Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Print
Normal Topic child prodigies (Read 1,536 times)
apple
Platinum Member

BA Member

child prodigies
11. Nov 2005 at 08:07
Print Post  
(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links)

benjamin, kit and alex are featured in this section of the forum.

the author forgot to include joe hay!! Shocked

'At three he was reading the Wall Street Journal'

Jennifer, Benjamin, Kit and Alex have flourishing classical careers - and the oldest is just 15. What will happen when they grow up, asks Stephen Moss

Thursday November 10, 2005
The Guardian

It is one of the paradoxes of classical music that, in a world where artists can still have a great career in their 80s, we are so hung up on prodigies. Menuhin, Kissin, Barenboim, Anne-Sophie Mutter - all superstars by the age of 13 - were forced to grow up in public. All classical musicians who have solo careers are in some sense prodigies. "I started playing at four, as all concert pianists do," the pianist and musicologist Charles Rosen once casually told me. It's just that some of them display their gifts on stage sooner than others. But what's the point? What does a 12-year-old have to say about a Beethoven piano sonata or a Brahms violin sonata?

Before I had met the four British-based prodigies featured here - pianists Benjamin Grosvenor and Kit Armstrong, violinist Jennifer Pike and composer/singer Alex Prior - I was fervently opposed to child performers. My instinctive suspicion was fed by a recent book on the American violinist Michael Rabin - feted as a teenager, in emotional free-fall in his 20s, dead at 35. Great classical musicians should be planets, not meteors; careers built steadily, stealthily. A violinist, bowing arm permitting, can last 40 years; a pianist 60. When you are 12, don't play Carnegie Hall, play football.